Sommer Lab Logo

Mohannad Dardiry

Mohannad Dardiry was awarded the Gwinner Award at the 15th annual meeting of the Ethological Society in 2020. This prize is given every year to acknowledge and reward outstanding scientific presentations of excellent early-career researchers. The award is named after Prof. Eberhard Gwinner (1938–2004), who conducted pioneering work in the field of Behavioral Biology. He was deeply dedicated to animal science and, for instance, created the Max Planck Institute for Ornithology (Germany).

Dr. Manuela R. Kieninger

Dr. Manuela R. Kieninger was awarded the Otto-Hahn medal 2016 by the Max Planck Society for the first demonstration of molecular and genetic switch mechanisms regulating phenotypic plasticity in animals. She is now employed at the Gurdon Institute, Cambridge University, UK.

Dr. Vladislav Susoy

Dr. Vladislav Susoy was awarded the Ph.D. prize of the Reinhard and Maria Teufel Stiftung 2016 for his demonstration of the macro-evolutionary potential of phenotypic plasticity using mouth-form diversity in nematodes as case study. Dr. Susoy is now employed at the Harvard University, Cambridge, USA.

Dr. Xiaoyue Wang

Dr. Xiaoyue Wang was awarded the Otto-Hahn medal by the Max Planck Society 2012 for the elucidation of the molecular mechanisms underlying vulva induction in Pristionchus pacificus and the demonstration of “developmental systems drift” as a general principle underlying the evolution of developmental processes. Dr. Wang is employed now at the Molecular Health GmbH, Heidelberg.